Putting Australia in the Shade; A Lattice Labyrinth employed to Spectacular Effect

Out of the blue has come this message from Asher of Alchemy Decor in Australia. To quote in full:

I make complex and beautiful shade structures for festivals all over Australia, taking inspiration from geometry, tilling art and all sorts of things.I found a picture on google a few years ago when searching “tessellating fractals” and it was so awesome so I re-designed the image into a shade structure.                                                                                        A few years later (last year! Dave M.) someone liked the design and commissioned me to make it for them. And when posting the photos public I found out that it actually wasn’t a fractal, but a lattice tessellation, and I came across you website properly!I’ve read that you believe that these tessellations aren’t “protected” per-say, but I still wanted to email you an apologize for using your art without asking first.
I’ve attached some photos of my structure.
The idea of the colour scheme is a tree with leaves as it was for an eco conscious music festival that had a focus on local forest regeneration.
I think my favorite part of it is the shadow it casts on the ground, so amazing.It’s made from lycra, which is what gives the pieces the curved effect between the joins when stretched.

Well here are some of the images Asher sent me, of what life under Lycra was like before life under Covid

..and before the festival went viral…showing the boundaries between the lycra “supertiles”

These images are so joyful I can’t help adding more…

and more, this time a drone’s -eye view.

This allows me to see that the design is a portion of Honeycomb (10,10) that I originally designed and blogged for Double Tenth Day, 國慶日/雙十節 , National Day of Taiwan, celebrated by Honeycomb (10,10)

Finally, this tantalising vision of the great Outback, as if we could just step Out into it.

So, thanks Asher – I don’t mind not making a penny out of this – you did MOST of the work, in  fact it’s a prodigious creation. However , being a mere pre-modern male, I would like some FAME out of it.

Maybe others will be inspired ..and you COULD engage me to conjure up a design especially for you. Also I can pass messages on to Alchemy Decor rather than expose them  by posting a link.

As always, here are some links to the inexpensive how-to-do-it  Lattice Labyrinths workbook which may still be available from the publisher or you-know-who , or from a good independent bookshop or via Google.

It’s easy to contact me via latticelabyrinths@gmail.com

 

 

About davescarthin

After terminating academic and local government careers, long an independent bookseller/publisher at Scarthin Books, Cromford, Derbyshire, UK. An antiquarian bookseller in two senses, I now have more time to be an annuated independent post-doc, developing the long dormant topic of lattice labyrinth tessellations - both a mathematical recreation and a source of compelling practical tiling and textile designs. Presenting a paper and experiencing so many others at Bridges Seoul 2014 Mathart conference was a great treat, as were the spirited MathsJam Annual Conferences in November 2016 and 2017. I'm building up to a more academic journal paper and trying hard to find practical outlets in graphic design and landscape architecture. I submitted 8 ft square tiling designs to the Wirksworth Festival Art and Architecture Trail in 2016 and 2017. I love giving illustrated talks, tailored to the audience. Get in touch to commission or to collaborate.
This entry was posted in Architectural Realisations, Honeycomb Labyrinths, National Labyrinths and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment